Summer in France and Spain 2019 (Day 15)

Cahors- Douelle

Thursday, 01.08.2019

17 km – 4 locks

Right, lets get back to business. Its all still pretty fucked up with Covid-19. Our Taoiseach has announced that in all likelihood, we will not be allowed to leave Ireland in the summer of 2021 at all.

So gladly there are pictures and memories left fill this blog.

Bringing on the story: In this week in 2019 I have not been feeling very well. And thus got am appointment with a GP in Cahors.

I was dragging this, as you all know, my French is extremely patchy.  As long as the GP does not also deal with baguette, I will be rather helpless.
Turns out the, the Doc speaks Latin. And thus it is the second time in more than 30 years, that my school Latin comes in useful. We both have a laugh. I get a prescription: “hoc est realis paciscor.”

After this we found a nice Turkish take away and had a nice Döner.

Then of to the boat and down the river to Douelle. Unfortunately I still wasn’t fully myself and there are no pictures.

But as I write Douelle makes the news. The Lot experiences one of the worst floods ever. And the whole LeBoat Base in Douelle goes awol. 2021 Does not start well.

https://www.ladepeche.fr/2021/02/02/crues-dans-le-lot-21-bateaux-emportes-par-les-flots-a-douelle-percutent-les-piles-dun-pont-9348613.php

Leave a comment